When will local elections 2022 results be announced for South Cambridg…

On Thursday, May 5, people will be heading to the surveys to cast their votes in this year’s local elections. In Cambridgeshire, three of the county’s district and city councils are holding elections, Cambridge City Council, Huntingdonshire District Council and South Cambridgeshire District Council.

Polling stations will be open for people to cast their votes from 7am until 10pm. Which polling stop people should vote at will be listed on their poll card.

Verification of the votes will take place overnight once the surveys have closed. Work will then start the next morning on Friday, May 6, to count the votes, and the results will be announced as the final counts are confirmed throughout the day.

Read more: Is there a May local election where I live in Cambridgeshire?

complete lists of candidates standing in the elections across the three councils were released last month. At Cambridge City Council 16 of the council’s 42 seats are up for election. The city council currently has a Labour majority with 25 councillors.

The largest opposition group is the Liberal Democrats with 12 councillors. There are also two Green Party councillors and one independent councillor.

All of the seats at Huntingdonshire District Council are up for election this year. Two wards saw uncontested elections – Holywell-cum-Needingworth and Sawtry wards – with the Conservatives holding the four seats.

The district council currently has a Conservative majority with 29 councillors. The largest opposition group is the HDC Independent Group with 10 councillors. The Liberal Democrats currently have seven councillors, Labour three and there are two independent councillors.

All of the seats are also up for election at South Cambridgeshire District Council. Currently the district council has a Liberal Democrat majority with 30 councillors. The party attained control of the council from the Conservatives at the last election in 2018.

The Conservative group is the largest opposition party with 11 councillors. Labour currently has two councillors and there is one independent councillor.

Click: See details

Leave a Reply