England match dates, start times and complete TV schedule

What is it?

It’s the seventh staging of what used to be called the ICC World T20 but is now known as the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup. West Indies, the holders, have won two of the past three; India, Pakistan, England and Sri Lanka have won one each. 

Where is it taking place?

It was originally scheduled to be held in October 2020 in Australia but was postponed midway by last year because of the Covid-19 global pandemic. Instead, having reverted to biennial tournaments after imposing a quadrennial timetable since 2016, the ICC brought forward the 2022 tournament a year and gave Australia the 2022 edition. This staging was originally due to be held in India but has, like the latter stages of the 2021 IPL, been switched to the United Arab Emirates. Matches will be held in Sharjah, Abu Dhabi and Dubai with the final on November 14 at Dubai’s International Stadium.

What is the format?

Two-tiered: eight teams have qualified automatically for the ‘Super 12 stage’ by virtue of their ICC ranking in December 2018 – (de jure if not de facto) hosts India, Pakistan, Afghanistan, England, Australia, New Zealand, West Indies and South Africa. 

Eight further teams – in Group A: Sri Lanka, Ireland, Namibia and Netherlands; in Group B: Bangladesh, Oman, Papua New Guinea and Scotland – begin a round robin elimination course of action to decide the four to join the Super 12 stage. They have been divided into two groups of four and over six days, from October 17-22, will each play the other three sides in their sections. The top two from each group will then join the other eight teams in two groups of six as follows:

What is the Super 12? 

For the main course the teams have been divided into two groups, now termed Group 1 and Group 2 (A and B having already been used) as follows:

Click: See details

Leave a Reply